View of Rhyodacites of Prophytis Ilias

View from the west of the Rhyodacitic Domes of the Caldera, the youngest lava intrusions during the last magmatic phase, the ‘Post-Caldera Eruptive Cycle’.

The post-caldera rhyodacitic lava domes comprise six groups of endogenous domes and with light gray perlitic lava flows originating from them. They were emitted during the last eruptive cycle of Nisyros volcano during purely effusive phases and lack any sign of explosive precursors. The domes are: Mt. Profitis Ilias (698 m), Boriatiko Vouno (437 m), Nymfios, Visternia, Dhiavatis, Trapezina, and Karaviotis (539 m). In addition, a small dome (Lofos, 214 m) is found in the southeastern edge, which has been devastated by recent hydrothermal explosions and fumarolic activity. All domes can be subdivided into four older central groups, Dhiavatis—Profitis Ilias, Nymfios, Visternia, Trapezina, and Lofos and two much younger domes, Boriatiko Vouno in the Northeast and Karaviotis with the silicic flow lobes of Kateros, Kilia, and Drakospilia in the Southwest. They exhibit steep spines and scoria at the surface, as well as they lack soil deposits and minor proximal scree deposits.